Question? Give us a call:1- 773-262-1700
Get access to exclusive deals - Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest:
Pinterest

  See all our latest titles:   New Release Books
                           |
Jan 21 Tu B'Shevat
Mar 21 Purim
Apr 20 First day of Passover
Apr 27 Last day of Passover
May 2 Yom HaShoah
May 9  Yom HaAtzmaut
May 23  Lag B'Omer
Jun 9 Shavuot
Aug 11 Tisha B'Av
Sep 30 Rosh Hashana
Oct 9 Yom Kippur
Oct 14 First day of Sukkot
Oct 20 Last day of Sukkot
Oct 21 Shmini Atzeret/Simchat Torah
Dec 23 First day of Chanukah
Dec 30 Last day of Chanukah

  Home > Books > New Release Books >

A Palace of Pearls: The Stories of Rabbi Nachman of Bratslav
A Palace of Pearls: The Stories of Rabbi Nachman of Bratslav
 
Our Price: $34.95
Publisher: Oxford
Author: Howard Schwartz
Format: Hardcover

Product Code: 16493
Qty:

Description
 
Rabbi Nachman of Bratslav (1772-1810) is widely considered to be one of the foremost visionary storytellers of the Hasidic movement. The great-grandson of the Ba'al Shem Tov, founder of the movement, Rabbi Nachman came to be regarded as a great figure and leader in his own right, guiding his followers on a spiritual path inspired by Kabbalah. In the last four years of his life he turned to storytelling, crafting highly imaginative, allegorical tales for his Hasidim. Three-time National Jewish Book Award winner Howard Schwartz has masterfully compiled the most extensive collection of Nachman's stories available in English. In addition to the well-known Thirteen Tales, including "The Lost Princess" and "The Seven Beggars," Schwartz has included over one hundred narratives in the various genres of fairy tales, fables, parables, dreams, and folktales, many of them previously unknown or believed lost. One such story is the carefully guarded "Tale of the Bread," which was never intended to be written down and was only to be shared with those Bratslavers who could be trusted not to reveal it. Eventually recorded by Rabbi Nachman's scribe, the tale has maintained its mythical status as a "hidden story."

With utmost reverence and unfettered delight, Schwartz has carefully curated A Palace of Pearls alongside masterful commentary that guides the reader through the Rabbi's spiritual mysticism and uniquely Kabbalistic approach, ultimately revealing Rabbi Nachman to be a literary heavyweight in the vein of Gogol and Kafka. Vibrant, wise, and provocative, this book is a must-read for any lover of fairy tales and fables.





Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review
(Your shopping cart is empty)